menu

News
Young coaches of the future invited to earn leadership qualification

Thursday 5 July 2018

Budding coaches of the future are being given the chance to learn more about what it takes to become an effective sports leader.

Jersey Sport is running a Level Two qualification in Sports Leadership this summer, for 13-16 year-olds. The course, at FB Fields, will combine the theoretical and practical elements of coaching.

“We’ll be showing them how to plan, lead and then evaluate sessions,” said Laura Robertson, Schools, Physical Literacy and Education Lead at Jersey Sport.

“Being a good coach isn’t necessarily about knowing the most about your sport, but actually about knowing how to get the most out of people by understanding how to best talk to them, setting the right example and tone at training and inspiring others.

“The qualification will form a great foundation for young people to go on and become coaches and, who knows, some might even go on to work with us at Jersey Sport.

The first course is from 8-17 August, while a second course will run from 22-31 August.

“The young people who undertake this qualification will learn and demonstrate important life skills too, this isn’t just about on field coaching,” added Dan Garton, Jersey Sport’s Community Programmes Officer.

“They’ll get to develop transferable skills such as effective communication and organisation, whilst learning to lead and deliver basic physical activities.”

The course costs £120. Participants do not need to have a Level One qualification to sign up for this qualification. To book, please download the application form below and either post to Jersey Sport at FB Fields, St Clement, Jersey, JE2 6QN or email it to bookings@jerseysport.je 

Click here for the application form

Course number 1

Day/Date Where/Time
Wednesday 8th August FB Fields (JS Office) 10.00am-3.00pm
Thursday 9th August FB Fields (JS Office) 10.00am-3.00pm
Friday 10th August FB Fields (JS Office) 10.00am-3.00pm
Monday 13th August FB Fields 10.00am-4.00pm
Tuesday 14th August FB Fields 10.00am-4.00pm
Wednesday 15th August FB Fields 10.00am-4.00pm
Thursday 16 August FB Fields 10.00am-4.00pm
Friday 17th August FB Fields 10.00am-4.00pm

Course number 2

Day/Date Where/Time
Wednesday 22nd August FB Fields (JS Office) 10.00am-3.00pm
Thursday 23rd August FB Fields (JS Office) 10.00am-3.00pm
Friday 24th August FB Fields (JS Office) 10.00am-3.00pm
Tuesday 28th August FB Fields 10.00am-4.00pm
Wednesday 29th August FB Fields 10.00am-4.00pm
Thursday 30th August FB Fields 10.00am-4.00pm
Friday 31st August FB Fields 10.00am-4.00pm

Note for applicants: Learners will be required to wear suitable sports attire and bring a notepad and pens. Learners will also need to bring plenty of water and lunch/snacks. If the weather is hot they will be required to bring a hat and sun cream.

More News